Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Colonoscopy Preparation Timeline Handbook. Episode 4 Podcast

T-5 Days - Implementing Medication Changes

In this episode, we’ll explore the precise adjustments you should make to your medications, including how to manage over-the-counter meds and prescription drugs in the days immediately leading up to your colonoscopy. We'll provide detailed examples of how to adjust common medications like insulin, blood thinners, and anti-inflammatories, and discuss the critical importance of coordinating these changes with your healthcare team. We'll also cover how to handle emergency medications on the day of the procedure, ensuring you’re prepared for any situation.

Download Resources:

1. Welcome Guide User Sheet

2. Welcome Guide Checklist

Sign up for Colonoscopy Preparation Sms Reminders

www.gutsphere.com

Time Stamps:

00:00 Intro

General Medication Adjustments

3:14 "Which medications should I adjust, and how, as I approach the colonoscopy date?"

6:48 "How should I manage over-the-counter medications I typically take for pain, allergies, or sleep?"

Heart Conditions

9:50 "Should I make any dose modifications to my heart medications, including blood pressure and heart rhythm meds?"

Kidney Conditions

13:25 "Are there specific considerations for adjusting medications if I have reduced kidney function or am on dialysis?"

Liver Conditions

15:28 "How do liver conditions like cirrhosis influence my medication adjustments for the colonoscopy?"

Diabetes Management

16:47 "What changes are needed for my diabetes medications, especially if I'm on insulin or medications like Metformin or Ozempic?"

Respiratory Conditions

 18:06 "Should I adjust my asthma or COPD medications prior to the procedure?"

Autoimmune Disorders

19:29 "Do medications for autoimmune disorders require adjustments before a colonoscopy?"

Mental Health Conditions

20:53 "Can I continue my mental health medications such as antidepressants, anti-anxiety, or mood stabilizers?"

Supplements and Herbal Adjustments

22:12 "Which supplements, vitamins, or herbal remedies should I pause, and when?"

Emergency Medications

23:15 "What emergency medications (e.g., for angina, asthma) should I have on hand, and how should I use them if needed?"

References:

General Medication Adjustments:

Heart Conditions:

Kidney Conditions:

Liver Conditions:

Diabetes Management:

Respiratory Conditions:

Autoimmune Disorders:

Mental Health Conditions:

Supplements and Herbal Adjustments:

Emergency Medications:

0 Comments
Gutsphere - Simplifying GI Care for Everyone, Everywhere
Gutsphere - Simplifying GI Care for Everyone, Everywhere Podcast
Discover GutSphere, a unique, research-based newsletter for gut health. Born from our founder's personal experience, we offer comprehensive solutions and a supportive community. Subscribe for weekly insights, practical advice, and tailored solutions.